Singing with Yasuko

Yasuko came like a song from across the Pacific. On the road coming out of the airport, she saw the view of the Rocky Mountain Front Range and worshiped in song, declaring her hosanna to the One who made the mountains. As I turned northward onto Powers Boulevard, Yasuko sang right there in the passenger seat. What else could she do, this woman who exudes praise?

We arrived at my home. Before her feet crossed the threshold I heard her say behind me, “God bless this home.” I received the blessing.

She brought, instead of phone or iPod, sheets and sheets of worship music in her red carry-on. (This woman carries worship wherever she goes.) I looked at the sheets. Below the chords were lyrics in English—and lyrics in Japanese! I learned some Japanese in college. Ever since I heard of Yasuko, I wanted to sing with her. Could this be the day?

She sat at the piano. I picked up the guitar, and we began.

sisters singing

“Father of lights . . .”

The harmonies came easily as we sang.

. . . You delight . . .

We sound good together, I thought, and I think God thought so, too, for ours were harmonized voices bound by the same song.

“. . . in Your children . . .” Yasuko and I, two of His children, felt His delight.

We sang of His good and perfect gifts. Hungry and weary, we sang of trusting in and waiting for God. We sang of His steady and unchanging love, first a verse in my language, then a verse in hers.

But when we got to the chorus, the Hallelujahs were the same.

Praise needs no translation. It is our common language. The Hallelujahs are always the same.

Praise the LORD, all nations;
Laud Him, all peoples!
(Psalm 117:1)

This week Bonnie Gray hosts a community of those who share about a gift we’ve received from God lately. Click on the Faith Barista badge below to read more about gifts from God!


FaithBarista_FreshJamBadgeG

Also liking with Ann Voskamp:

6 thoughts on “Singing with Yasuko

Leave a Reply

