Humility Is Not Like Cramming for a Test

The week before a big exam I crammed in whatever facts, equations, names, and dates I needed. Come test time, I unloaded those bursting memory banks, pencil flying ahead of the clock. After time was up and my pencil was down, I wiped my brow in relief. Done.

Right after the test I cut the twine that tied my bulging mental cardboard box of facts, and all of them spilled out.

Forgotten.

What else have I forgotten? What gifts passed from God’s hand to mine that I did not bother to remember? I remember—and remember long-term—for a reason.

And you shall remember all the way which the Lord your God has led you in the wilderness these forty years, that He might humble you…
(Deuteronomy 8:2)

In these words is a secret, a way to humility. This secret is remembering the Lord’s works, so I let His goodnesses pass before me, like a slow slide show of all the wilderness scenes of my past. Father, I remember the parched emotional wildernesses of 2004, of 2005. I remember how you brought me through the mental despair of freshman year in college and the relational barbs of fifth grade. Father, I remember how you sustained me, pulled me out, encouraged me. I remember and am humbled.

Then your heart becomes proud, and you forget the Lord your God who brought you out from the land of Egypt, out of the house of slavery.
(Deuteronomy 8:14)

Forgetting leads to pride leads to forgetting leads to…

To protect myself from pride, I make it a habit to remember the Lord and His works. Memory aids humility.

(Linking with Ann Voskamp today. Click on the Holy Experience badge below to read more posts on Humility:)

5 thoughts on “Humility Is Not Like Cramming for a Test

  1. You make an excellent point. We are told so often not to carry baggage – and that is right too – but we should, indeed, remember where the Lord has patiently been with us, stood by us, watched us… (not just ten/twenty years ago, but this morning? ten minutes ago?) … and be humbled indeed.

  2. Pingback: “How can anyone be arrogant when…” | Know-Love-Obey God

Leave a Reply

