What Makes a Good Cook

I planned a gourmet dinner
fresh basil, roasted red
peppers,

of course, chocolate
was involved
for dessert.

But as soon as I turned
my mind to the grocery bill
the gourmet turned grumpy.

Stinginess takes
a few letters out of “hospitality”
and turns it
into “hostility.”

Stinginess wipes
away all blessing,
but the whole
point of having them over
is to bless them
with light and open heart.

Let someone else look
at the receipts.

Don’t eat with people who are stingy;
don’t desire their delicacies.
They are always thinking about how much it costs.
“Eat and drink,” they say, but they don’t mean it.
You will throw up what little you’ve eaten,
and your compliments will be wasted.”

(Proverbs 23:6-8)

One thought on “What Makes a Good Cook

  1. so, so true. And I wonder, was it the verse that prompted the insight is the insight which prompted you to look up the verse? regardless I get the point – and it was brought home by your story. I have had much in my life, and I have had very little as well, and I’ve noticed one thing – I’m far more generous when I have a lot, then when I have just enough, or less than enough – if you have 10 pairs of shoes giving away one isn’t such a struggle – but I’ve found that if you have one I tend to hold onto a little more tightly. I guess even when we have very little need not to be greedy. Thank you for this Monica. And God bless you and each and every one of yours

Leave a Reply

