My Mentors

Age makes us shorter, they say,
maybe due to squished spinal discs
or a thinning honeycomb, meaning
decreasing density in the bones.
But whatever the cause,
in spite of my height of five-four
(and a half), I stand taller
than giants—those God-given
mentors, the older and wiser
than I. Though their stature
is smaller, I know that when
I look down at them, I am really
looking up.

Their wisdom, coming
from above, is like a mine
of precious gold or a hidden
cave of treasures yet untold,
waiting to be told.
These treasures could be mine!
What a waste and a loss if, knowing
of the treasures, I simply passed
the cave without mining.

Get all the advice and instruction you can,
so you will be wise the rest of your life.
(Proverbs 19:20)

Though good advice lies deep within the heart,
a person with understanding will draw it out.
(Proverbs 20:5)

Father, thank You for the mentors you have given me. Thank You for the older friends to surround me, that I may learn from what You have taught them, that I may observe and emulate their Christlikeness, that my life may be richer and better prepared to walk more closely with You.

Father, please also give me the kind of understanding that draws out the wisdom that lies deep within the older ones around me. How do I mine wisdom from the quiet ones? What questions should I ask? What steps of relationship should I take?

(For the “Looking Up” poetry prompt due Nov. 16.)

4 thoughts on “My Mentors

  1. This is beautiful and so right on! My mom had so much wisdom at the end of her life but was panting between each word. SO sad! It’s been 5 years and I still love to hear from older folks. God bless you today!

  2. In looking down, we are sometimes looking up. Love this.

    I don’t want to pass by the treasures.

    I’m only 5 foot 2 (and a half.) I hope someday those who look down at me feel like they are looking up.

Leave a Reply

