Who Fills In the Blanks? (Wanting What He Wants Me to Want)

Delight yourself in the LORD;
And He will give you the desires of your heart.
(Psalm 37:4)

Because of Psalm 37:4 I have a wish list:

My Heart’s Desires

1. I want __________.
2. I want __________.
3. I want __________.
4. I want __________.
5. …
6. …
.
.
.

It’s not that I delight in the Lord,
fill in the blanks,
give Him my list,
and then He will give me
what I desire.

I think of it this way:
I give Him the blank list,
He fills in the blanks,
and then He will give me
the desires themselves.

Father, I ask not that You give me what I want, but that you give me the want.

***

(This week Ann Voskamp hosts a community of those who share about Fasting. This is my fast: to seek not my desires but His.)

“Why have we fasted and You do not see?
Why have we humbled ourselves and You do not notice?”

Behold, on the day of your fast you find your desire,
And drive hard all your workers …

Is this not the fast which I choose,
To loosen the bonds of wickedness,
To undo the bands of the yoke,
And to let the oppressed go free
And break every yoke?

(Isaiah 58:3,6, emphases mine)

(On Wednesday, click on the Holy Experience badge below for more community posts on Fasting!)

10 thoughts on “Who Fills In the Blanks? (Wanting What He Wants Me to Want)

  1. Monica, I have loved that verse! First I thought it meant that we delight in the Lord so we desire him and then he gives us himself, which is our desire. Pretty metaphysical, and most people don’t follow that. Sounds Narnian.
    In summer 2010 it came to mean more of “I can’t make the right things happen but God can. So I can delight in him and he can work things out.” where I am weak, he is strong.
    Today, just tonight, we were studying Romans 3, and how the law speaks to those under law to silence them…and your post is resonating with that. I, being silent, can receive right desires instead of the evil desires of James 1:13-16 that lead to sin and death! Hope for my heart.
    Blessing of God to you with thanks for writing perspective.

  2. Miss Monica,
    I see that we are two birds of the same feather (is that how that saying goes?) with our most recent posts. Who knew? Well, God knew. Apparently He is doing something in each of us.

    You nailed it with this post, when we seek Him, our desires should line up with His wants, and it meshes together in a most grand manner. My problem? I keep getting off-track and thinking about me, me, me.

    Thank you.

    Blessings.

  3. Pingback: Satisfaction Guaranteed | Know-Love-Obey God

Leave a Reply

