Turning Back

We are eastbound on Woodmen Road, barely on time for piano lessons. Touching both ends of the city, the straight road hypnotizes me into dull mind-wandering. The left turn to the piano teacher’s house is easy to miss.

And I miss it.

But I don’t realize it yet. My brain is barely alert enough to stop at red lights, but the light still stares green. The next light is green, too, and my foot remains unmoved on the gas pedal. One hand mechanically keeps the wheel steady. A mile passes, and another, and two more…

I missed the turn! The realization jerks me into frustration just after I pass a convenient turn-around. Eyes and ears now at full attention, my brain does the math: we will be ten minutes late for piano, which is worth how many dollars? Blood pressure rising, I drive to the next possible U-turn and immediately turn back…

…immediately turn back…

Jeremiah, say to the people, “This is what the LORD says:

‘When people fall down, don’t they get up again?
When they discover they’re on the wrong road, don’t they turn back?

Then why do these people stay on their self-destructive path?
Why do the people of Jerusalem refuse to turn back?
They cling tightly to their lies
and will not turn around.’ ”
(Jeremiah 8:4-5 NLT)

To keep doing something I know is wrong is like continuing on the wrong road, even after I realize I missed the turn.

Father, I turn—immediately, I turn back. Thank you for this part of Your Word which helps me turn away from sin. Help me, Father. I immediately turn back…

(Slightly modified from the original post here.)

8 thoughts on “Turning Back

  1. Loved the story…thank you for sharing your thoughts, that gently remind me to not continue down a wrong path. Hmmm….makes me pause and think this morning…that it’s wise and good to ask Him to lead me, to guide. Blessings to you–dropping by from Playdates with God.

  2. the straight road touches both ends of the city… that line has many biblical connotations, aye?

    but the only way is the straight AND narrow.

    thanks for this piece o’ Truth, miss Monica.

  3. Anna had to get to the dentist about two weeks ago to have some teeth pulled. I missed the turn to the dentist’s office. I turned around a mile later, and I missed it again on the way back. And yes… I missed it the third time, too. But I’ll tell you, the laughter from the backseat made it ALL worth it. :)

    Great post, friend. You are so wise.

Leave a Reply

