Heart Talk

The words of my mouth
reading a story aloud
to the child on my lap
but though I read every word perfectly
I do not know the storyline,
my mind on less important thoughts
though the child is on my lap.

The words of my mouth
asking “How are you?”
to the friend on the phone
but though she pours out the real answer
I do not hear,
my mind on less important thoughts
though the friend is on the phone.

The words of my mouth
chatting with the neighbors on the driveway
telling of aches in the hips
and strawberries that the deer ate
but though I nod at their daily lives
I do not hear,
my mind on less important thoughts
though the neighbors are on the driveway.

The words of my mouth
are not the same
as the words of my heart.

Father, change me . . .

Here is something very simple about relationships…Nobody will listen to you unless they sense that you like them…

When I am talking to somebody there are always two conversations going on. The first is on the surface; it is about politics or music or whatever it is our mouths are saying. The other is beneath the surface, on the level of the heart, and my heart is either communicating that I like the person I am talking to or I don’t. God wants both conversations to be true. That is, we are supposed to speak truth in love.

– Donald Miller, Blue Like Jazz, page 221.

4 thoughts on “Heart Talk

  1. I try so hard not to spread myself too thin because I want to thick-in-Him with each person I greet, meet, encounter; but, it’s hard.

    Thank you for sharing this piece of your heart and it’s crazy beans how that quote goes along with it. Did one inspire the other or were they born twins?

    Blessings.

    • Well, you sure are a great example to me, what with all your farmers’ market stories…

      Anyway, while I was reading that part of the book, the poem came along. So the book inspired the poem.

Leave a Reply

