Turn That Puppy Around!

Self-control was a dog, big and mean, facing me
with upper lip quivering to throat-deep
rumbling growls behind vicious teeth,
keeping me from snatching another
cookie.

But I had it wrong. Self-control is not
a police dog watching me
but my loyal guard dog protecting me.

Same dog as before,
just turned the other way.

And as he sits at my heels
I scratch behind his ears.
Good dog.

A person without self-control
is like a city with broken-down walls.
(Proverbs 25:28)

Be self-controlled and alert. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.
(1 Peter 5:8)

So then, let us not be like others, who are asleep, but let us be alert and self-controlled.
(1 Thessalonians 5:6)

One thought on “Turn That Puppy Around!

Leave a Reply

